Molecular Diagnostics

Molecular-biological  and Measure-spectrometric Diagnostics for Arterial Hypertension - a New Service

(Additional informations are available via phone 031 632 31 44)

This service is already referenced by

Due to advanced diagnostic methodology more and more patients diagnosed with a so-called essential hypertension are detected with a dysfunction in the region of the adrenal cortex or the cortical collecting duct of the kidneys.

The management of the University Hospital of Berne Inselspital recognized these new achievements of medical research and supports an innovative service for an integrated diagnosis and therapy of arterial hypertension under the direction of the Department of Nephrology and Hypertension since June 2001.

The figure shows an GC/MS-analysis of the urine of a hypertensive patient with an overproduction of deoxycortico steron as a cause of the high blood pressure (from the laboratory of the Department of Nephrology and Hypertension).

MR investigation of the adrenal gland (performed at the Institute for Diagnostic Radiology of the University Hospital of Berne Inselspital). Such adenomas, which produce excessive amounts of hormones with mineralocorticoid effect and thereby induce arterial hypertension, are removed laparoscopically at the Urologic Clinic of the University Hospital of Berne Inselspital.

 

 

 

 

Analysis of the gene 11ß-hydroxysteroid dehydrogenase. The mutation of this gene leads to a missing inactivation of cortisol in the kidney of this female patient and thus to a cortisol induced sodium retention in the cortical collecting duct. This low renin, low aldosterone hypertension (laboratory of the Department of Nephrology and Hypertension) could be normalized by a rational pharmacotherapy.

Molekulare Diagnostik

Molekularbiologische und massenspektrometrische Diagnostik für die arterielle Hypertonie - eine neue Dienstleistung

(Zusätzliche Informationen sind erhältlich via Tel. 031 632 31 44)

Diese Dienstleistung ist bereits referenziert bei:

Dank feinerer Diagnostik entpuppen sich immer mehr Patienten mit einer sogenannt essentiellen Hypertonie als Patienten, die eine Störung im Bereich der Nebennierenrinde oder des corticalen Sammelrohrs der Nieren aufweisen.

Die Inseldirektion hat diesen neuen Errungenschaften der medizinischen Forschung Rechnung getragen und unterstützt deshalb seit Juni 2001 ein innovatives Dienstleistungsangebot für eine integrierte Abklärung und Therapie der arteriellen Hypertonie unter der Leitung der Universitätsklinik für Nephrologie und Hypertonie.

Die Abbildung zeigt eine GC/MS-Analyse des Urins eines hypertonen Patienten mit einer Überproduktion von Deoxycortico-steron als Ursache des hohen Blutdrucks (aus dem Labor der Nephrologie/Hypertonie).

MR-Untersuchung der Nebennieren im Institut für Diagnostische Radiologie des Inselspitals. Solche Adenome, die zuviel Hormone mit mineralocorticoider Wirkung produzieren und dadurch eine arterielle Hypertonie induzieren, werden von den Chirurgen der Urologischen Klinik des Inselspitals laparoskopisch entfernt.

 

 

 

 

Analyse des Gens 11ß-Hydroxysteroid Dehydrogenase. Die Mutation dieses Gens führt zu einer fehlenden Inaktivierung von Cortisol in der Niere dieser Patientin und dadurch zu einer Cortisol induzierten Natriumretention im Corticalen Sammelrohr, was zu einer sog. low renin, low aldosterone hypertersion führte (Labor Nephrologie / Hypertonie), die sich dank rationaler Pharmakotherapie normalisieren liess.

Zuständige Fachpersonen

Michael Grössl

PhD Michael Grössl

Leiter Steroidanalyse
Tel.+41 31 632 94 77
Fax+41 31 632 94 44
Geneviève  Escher

PD PhD Geneviève Escher

Leiterin Forschungslaboratorien
Tel.+41 31 632 91 64
Fax+41 31 632 94 44